DPS Water Division

Newburyport Water Works was established in 1908 under a Special Act of the State Legislature to provide water service to homes and businesses in Newburyport, the Old Town portion of Newbury, Plum Island, and the Town of West Newbury.

The Water Division is part of the Department of Public Services and consists of three divisions: Water Operations, Construction, and Administrative.

  • The Water Operations staff is located at the Water Treatment Plant at 7 Spring Lane. They manage the three reservoirs and two wells and operate the two pumping stations, treatment plant and two storage tanks. This division is responsible for maintaining the quality of our drinking water. The Water Treatment Plant is staffed 24 hours per day. The Plant # is (978) 465-4466
  • The Construction staff is located at the Department of Public Services, 16A Perry Way. This division is responsible for maintaining over 80 miles of water main throughout the City, the Old Town portion of Newbury and Plum Island. They maintain fire hydrants, valves, fix breaks, replace old water mains, install and inspect new water services, replace meters and respond to emergencies 24 hours a day.
  • The Administrative staff is located at the DPS Water/Sewer Administration Building, 16C Perry Way. This division is responsible for all billing issues, as well as, responding to customer phones calls and scheduling of meter readings, installations, repairs and for any water related issues. Please call (978)465-4420

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Anthony J. Furnari Director (978) 465-4464 ext. 1702
Jamie Tuccolo Deputy Director (978) 465-4464 ext. 1703
Julie Spurr Knight Business Manager (978) 465-4464 ext. 1712
Thomas Cusick, Jr. Water Treatment Superintendent (978) 465-4466
Jon-Eric White, PE City Engineer (978) 465-4464 ext. 1710