Parks Commission

Mission Statement
The Newburyport Parks Commission was established in 1996 under Mayor Mead. Commissioners are appointed by the mayor to serve five-year terms.The Commission was established to serve the residents of the City and other park users through the establishment and implementation of plans for the maintenance, expansion, and betterment of the open spaces, parks, and recreational facilities over which the Commission has jurisdiction. The Commission serves to monitor and officially act on issues affecting the use and management of facilities in a manner that provides the most optimal facilities for the residents of Newburyport and other users. The Commission engages the public in a democratic manner to allow for a continuous dialog towards meeting the intent of the mission statement and marshal the resources within its powers to address the needs of the community.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Lisë Reid Parks Director (978) 465-4462

Commission Members

Name Title
Ann Lagasse Commissioner
Karen Popken Commissioner
Steve Sawyer Commissioner
Kim Turner Chair
Ann Dykes Commissioner