Community Preservation Committee

Meeting Information

When: Fourth Tuesday of the month
Where: Police Station Conference Room
Time: 7pm


(978) 465-4400 ext. 3


Community Preservation Committee
60 Pleasant Street
P.O. Box 550
Newburyport, MA 01950
United States

The residents of Newburyport voted to adopt the Community Preservation Act (CPA) on November 5, 2002. This program creates a 2% surcharge on real estate taxes for all property owners, with exemptions for the first $100,000 of residential property value and property owned by any person who qualifies for low  income housing. The Commonwealth provides matching funds in October, which has resulted in the additional annual receipts of between thirty to one hundred percent local revenue.

On February 24, 2003, the City Council adopted a City Ordinance creating the nine member Newburyport Community Preservation Committee (CPC). The CPC is charged with studying the City's needs, possibilities and resources with respect to community preservation and making recommendations to the City Council with respect to the allocation and expenditure of CPA funds.

The CPC holds a public informational hearing every fall to hear suggestions and proposals from residents, City Boards, local organizations, and other stakeholders for projects which will best serve the goals of the CPA and the needs and interests of the City. The CPC then entertains project applications each spring and makes recommendations for funding to the City Council in late spring.

Applicants seeking affordable housing funds must first attend a Newburyport Affordable Housing Trust meeting to review and discuss the application.  This review must occur prior to the grant deadline and a letter from the Trust must accompany your application.

Committee Members

Name Title
Mike Dissette Chair (Open Space Commission)
Jane Healey Vice-Chair
Judith Grohe Member
Paul Healy (Conservation Commission)
Robert Uhlig (Parks Commission)
Linda Smiley (Historical Commission)
Dan Koen (Housing Authority)
Leah McGavern (Planning Board)
Don Little Member

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Kate Newhall-Smith CPC Administrator (978) 465-4400 ext. 3
Syndicate content