Electrical Permit Fees

The purpose of the Massachusetts Electrical Code is the practical safeguarding of persons and property from hazards arising from the use of electricity.
 
Residential - New Construction (includes service):
  • Fee is based on the projected building cost as shown on the building permit, first $50,000.00: $150.00
  • Each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof: $1.00 Additions/Renovations (plus the service if applicable)
Additions / Renovations:
  • $50.00 for a Residential  permit plus $3.00 for  each (i.e.: lights, outlets, receptacles, switches, appliances, special equipment, etc)
  • Overhead: (Includes 1st panel or main circuit breaker enclosure) $45.00
  • Underground: (Includes 1st panel or main circuit breaker enclosure) $85.00
  • Each additional panel $20.00
  • Temporary Residential Service: $45.00
  • Garages: Attached: $60.00, Detached: $100.00
  • $60.00 for a Commercial permit plus $3.00 for each plug, switch, light, appliance, special equipment
  • Services - Changes or Alterations: Each 200 ampere or fraction thereof: $50.00
  • Each additional panel: $20.00
  • Commercial Temporary Service: $60.00
  • Mass utility retro Fit: $65.00
Commercial - New Construction:
  • Fee is based on projected building cost as shown on the building permit, First $100,000.00: $300.00
  • Each additional $1,000.00 or fraction thereof: $1.00
Miscellaneous:
  • Swimming pool, in-ground: $85.00
  • Swimming pool, above ground: $55.00
  • Hot water heater replacement residential: $30.00
  • Hot water heater replacement commercial: $40.00
  • Burglar/Fire alarm system residential: $45.00
  • Burglar/Fire alarm system commercial: $85.00
  • Central heat/air residential: $45.00
  • Central heater/air commercial: $85.00
  • Tel/data systems: $85.00
  • Remove & reinstall for siding: $55.00
  • Gas piping grounding: $30.00
  • Re-Inspection fee: $30.00
Any person failing to give notice by way of an electrical permit within five days of commencing work shall be punished by a fine in addition to the permit fee. This fine shall be equal to the amount charged for the permit fee but in no case shall it exceed five hundred dollars (Chapter 143, Section 31, of the Massachusetts General Laws).