# CITY COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA - VERSION 1 REMOTE MINUTES JULY 30, 2020

### 7:30PM

# 1. Call to Order

The City Council President, Jared Eigerman, called the meeting to order at 7:30pm. The City Council President then instructed the City Clerk to call the roll. The following Councillors answered present: Vogel, Wallace, Zeid, Khan, Lane, McCauley, Connell, Shand, Tontar, and Eigerman. 10 present, 1 absent (Devlin) using Zoom as a platform.

Late File: Charter Sec 2-7 Notice re: NYS Motion to waive the rules and allow late files by Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Tontar. So voted.

# 2. Communications

- COMM252\_07\_30\_2020 Ltr re: Face Masks in public Motion to refer to NCS by Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Tontar. So voted.
- COMM253\_07\_30\_2020 Charter Sec 2-7 Notice re: NYS Motion to Table by Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Connell. So voted.

# 3. Orders

- ORDR200\_07\_30\_2020 Crosswalk Order
   Motion to refer to PS by Councillor Wallace, seconded by Councillor Khan. So voted
- ORDR201\_07\_30\_2020 Intermunicipal Agreement; Amesbury and Newburyport CDBG Motion to refer to P&D by Councillor Shand, seconded by Councillor McCauley. So voted

### 4. Ordinances

- ODNC060\_07\_30\_2020 Parking on Plum Island w/ Emergency Preamble
   Motion to Approve the Emergency Preamble and Waive the Rules to Approve in one reading by
   Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Tontar. Motion to Waive Rule 9B to allow the measure in one
   reading by Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Tontar. Motion to Approve by Councillor Zeid,
   seconded by Councillor McCauley, roll call vote 10Y, 1 A(JD).
- ODNC061\_07\_30\_2020 Amendment to Ch. 11 Parks and Recreation for Covid-19
   Motion to Waive Rule 12D by Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Khan, so voted. Motion to Refer to NCS by Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Khan, so voted.

- 5. Reports by Standing and Ad Hoc Committees Councillor Eigerman announced that the members of the Ordinance Review Cmte would be Jim Connolly, Esq., Cllr. Barry Connell, Cllr. Afroz Khan, and Cllr. Jared Eigerman. Mayor's announcement to follow.
- 6. Good of the Order Councillor Eigerman announced the members of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Waterfront as:

### Members:

- 1. Cllr. Jared Eigerman, Ward 2, Council President
- 2. Cllr. Barry Connell, At Large, Chair, Cmte. on Neighborhood & City Service
- 3. Cllr. Sharif Zeid, Ward 1
- 4. Cllr. Heather Shand, Ward 3, Chair, Cmte. on Planning & Development
- 5. Cllr. Jim McCauley, Ward 5

# Ex Officio (Non-Voting) Members:

- 1. Mayor Donna Holaday
- 2. Kim Turner, Chair, Parks Commission
- 3. Planning Director Andy Port
- 4. Parks Director Lise Reid
- 5. DPS Director Tony Furnari
- 6. City Engineer Jon-Eric White
- 7. Harbormaster Paul Hogg
- 8. Matt Pieniazek, Waterfront Trust, Trustee
- 9. Bill Harris, Waterfront Trust, Settlor

To be involved: Finance Director Ethan Manning; Parking Clerk Richard Jones

7. Adjournment Motion to Adjourn at 8:01 pm by Councillor Zeid, seconded by Councillor Khan.

\*

### **Zoom Details:**

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85064050482

Or iPhone one-tap:

US: +13017158592,,85064050482# or +13126266799,,85064050482#

Or Telephone:

Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

US: +1 301 715 8592 or +1 312 626 6799 or +1 646 558 8656 or +1 253 215 8782 or +1 346 248 7799 or +1 669 900 9128

Webinar ID: 850 6405 0482